Five ways to unwind and relax

^168CC263C23AC11C3AEB092D16E69AFD14FE0995310D306149^pimgpsh_fullsize_distrSo, I’ve been thinking about ways to unwind, as the last few weeks have been extremely busy around here. And today it got me thinking how you can relax and calm down when things get a bit crazy. After a while I came up with five tips for you, so here they are.

1.Talk to a friend

Talking to someone who understands you is a great way to unwind. Me and my friend found this small, cozy cafe in my town and decided to sit down and have a nice cup of coffee. Just talking to him and enjoying the sun coming through the window calmed me down almost instantly. So if you have the chance to do something with someone who you are comfortable with, go ahead and do it.

2. Go for a walk/hike

If talking to a friend doesn’t help you, going for a walk might do the trick. Going somewhere by yourself could be very powerful. Because you are alone, you have the chance to think and reflect on the things that make you anxious. Don’t put music on and don’t distract yourself. Just try to stay present.

3. Do yoga

Talking about distractions…if you find it hard to stay in the moment, why don’t you try yoga? Yoga could be a great workout but it also centers you and calms you down. I remember being very anxious all the time, while I was studying for my exams, so I decided to do something about it and took up yoga. After a week of literally making myself do it, I got hooked and now I can’t stop.

4.Try something new

If you haven’t found your thing yet, try different stuff out. Who knows, maybe you’ll find a great hobby or even your calling. There’s no need to feel frustrated, just go on the internet and look for some interesting activities where you live. If you are interested in art, go to an art gallery. If you like literature, spend the whole day in a small bookshop buried under old books and new adventures. Ask yourself, what you like and go do it.

5. Disconnect from social media

Or how about just turning off your phone? If you can’t go a long time without using your phone or laptop, you can try to just turn it off for an hour or even thirty minutes. Then go and do something you like. Spend quality time with your family, take up a new sport or take a nap. You’ll feel way more refreshed and energized afterwards.

So, those are the things I like to do when I need to relax. Leave me a comment and let me know what you think.

Love,
Vili

Leave a Reply

